MoMo 2.0 Study

Physical fitness and physical activity as determinants of health development in children and adolescents in Germany

The Motorik-Modul Study (MoMo) originated as a sub-module of the nationwide German health Interview and Exmanination Survey for Children and Adolescents (KiGGS) of the Robert Koch Institut (RKI) and has been conducted since 2003. As a result of a resolution of the German Bundestag, we are therefore now conducting the study under the name MoMo 2.0 in even more locations in Germany since October 2022. Funded by the German Federal Ministry of Health, the aim of MoMo 2.0 is to study the course and development of physical fitness and activity behavior of the population living in Germany over a longer period of time. These results help to improve the health situation in Germany.

Video of Results

In this video, Samira and Finn talk about their participation in the study and present the latest results.

News

LogoIfSS
Save the date: Kongress Let's move Kids + Kinder bewegen 2025

From March 19 to 21, 2025, the conference “Let’s move Kids + Kinder bewegen” will take place at the Institute of Sport and Sports Science in Karlsruhe. The first two days will feature an English-language scientific congress with keynote speakers from international experts, oral sessions, and poster presentations. On the third day, the latest research results from the MoMo study will be presented, along with impulse lectures and a panel discussion on data usage in various settings. Stay tuned for further details!

GhentNiessner
MoMo and MO|RE data at DCD15-IMDRC6

From June 5 to 8, the 15th Developmental Coordination Disorder (DCD) Congress and the 6th meeting of the International Motor Development Research Consortium (IMDRC) took place in a combined event (DCD15-IMDRC6). The event provided a platform for the presentation of the MoMo and MO|RE data projects by Claudia Niessner and Anke Hanssen-Doose. The poster presentations attracted numerous interested listeners and there was a valuable discussion among the participants. In addition, the event provided an excellent opportunity to make new contacts and strengthen existing relationships.

 

To the MoMo-Poster
ExpertsWHO
WHO adolescent physical activity measurement and surveillance meeting

From May 8 to 10, 2024, the WHO meeting took place. Experts from all over the from all over the world were invited, including MoMo project manager Dr. Alexander Burchartz, who presented important findings from the MoMo study and his doctoral thesis. The meeting provided a platform for in-depth discussions and exchange between the experts. exchange between the experts. The presentations and discussions, in particular the results and experiences from the MoMo study and the COMO study, contributed significantly to the quality and depth depth of the discussions. The insights gained during the meeting and the exchange with the experts with the experts provided valuable impetus for the project's current ongoing studies of the project. In addition, the meeting meeting resulted in exciting ideas and contacts for possible collaborations in the near future. The project team will continue to explore and utilize these explored and utilized. The meeting was therefore an important step for the the further development of the project.

 

Fiba 24KTS BW
Fitnessbarometer 2024

“How fit are children and young people in Baden-Württemberg?”

The Kinderturnstiftung Baden-Württemberg answers this question once a year in collaboration with Prof. Dr. Klaus Bös and the KIT research team led by Dr. Claudia Niessner.

The classification of the results is based on the MoMo data from the baseline survey.

This year, the main question of interest was how the coronavirus pandemic is affecting fitness: Are we continuing to see signs of a corona dip?

The “weight jump” from kindergarten to elementary school was also examined this year.

 

To the results
Testung KAPädagogische Hochschule Karlsruhe
Half-time fieldwork (wave 4)

29 April marks a special milestone in the current field phase: the mountain festival. Route 40, one of a total of 79 routes, was tested at the University of Education in Karlsruhe. This event also attracted the attention of the press. Representatives of the press were present to interview Annette Worth, Claudia Niessner, Alexander Burchartz and Sarah Heinisch. The presence of the media underlines the importance of the field phase and provides a platform to present the progress and results to a wider audience.

Today marks an important step towards the final goal of the field phase, and the positive response from the press helps to strengthen public awareness and support for the project.

BroschüreKron
Results brochure - Wave 3

In this brochure you will find the most important study results on motor performance, physical activity and health in young people (german).

To the brochure
OsternHeinisch
Happy Easter

The entire MoMo-Team wishes you a happy Easter and happy holidays! Enjoy the spring-like days and recharge your batteries with walks, bike rides or other outdoor activities. These holidays offer the perfect opportunity to get moving and explore nature.

GPS
MoMo Results Presentation at GPS Annual Conference

On March 8th, Prof. Dr. Alexander Woll and Dr. Claudia Niessner presented the latest findings from the MoMo study and the Fitness Barometer at the annual conference of the Society for Pediatric Sports Medicine in Ludwigsburg. Titled "How Do Children and Adolescents Move in Germany?", their presentation provided valuable insights into the movement behavior and fitness of the younger generation, sparking discussions on potential measures to improve physical activity promotion..

Pub
New Publication: The Physical Activity and Media Usage of Children and Adolescents in Germany During and After the COVID-19 Pandemic

Presented are the analyzed data on the physical activity and media usage of children and adolescents living in Germany before and during the COVID-19 pandemic, embedded in a "post-COVID" survey conducted for the first time in February 2023.

To the publication (german)
KITKIT
Talk "Data for Actions: The Future of Sports and Health Research in Childhood"

During the "KIT im Rathaus" event series, the KIT Center for Health Technologies was showcased. Dr. Claudia Niessner elucidated in her presentation titled "Data for Actions: The Future of Sports and Health Research in Childhood" the significant contribution made by the MoMo study in this field.

To the recording (german)
KlemmKlemm
Presentation of MoMo results at the dsj expert hearing

As part of the dsj event "MOVE FOR HEALTH", Prof. Dr. Alexander Woll presented findings from the MoMo and COMO study on physical activity among children and young people in Germany after the pandemic. The event created a great exchange between science, practice and politics.

MoMo-Schulung_2.jpgHeinisch
New MoMo test instructors are ready to go

The MoMo 2.0 study conducted by the Institute of Physical Education and Sports, in collaboration with KIT and partner institutions University of Konstanz and Humboldt University Berlin, will launch a new data collection phase in September 2023. In July, the first MoMo test instructor training took place, with the participation of 15 students. Since a test ride involves not only testing the participants but also a significant amount of organization, the participants received a wealth of information about a MoMo test ride. Well-prepared, the first test insturctors can now assess children and adolescents aged 4-17 in locations such as Munich and Kiel, Budesheim, and Schmittshausen. The MoMo 2.0 study has been supported by the German Federal Ministry of Health since 2022.

Screenshot 2023-04-21 1152248888.png
2021 Best Paper Award

Kathrin Wunsch, Carina Nigg, Claudia Niessner, Steffen C. E. Schmidt, Doris Oriwol, Anke Hanssen-Doose, Alexander Burchartz, Ana Eichsteller, Simon Kolb, Annette Worth and Alexander Woll have been awarded the 2021 Best Paper Award in recognition of their outstanding publication "The Impact of COVID-19 on the Interrelation of Physical Activity, Screen Time and Health-Related Quality of Life in Children and Adolescents in Germany: Results of the Motorik-Modul Study" Children 2021, 8(2), 98; doi: 10.3390/children8020098

To the publication
MoMo2.0
MoMo 2.0 Study

Based on a resolution of the German Bundestag, the MoMo study has been funded by the BMG since October 2022.

More
Factsheets
Factsheets of wave 3 online

Results on physical activity in school, sports clubs, leisure time and everyday life of children and adolescents in Germany.

To the factsheets
BMG
Information papers BMG

The German Federal Ministry of Health has published information papers on promoting physical activity among children and adolescents in the COVID-19 pandemic in the living environments of schools, daycare centers, and sports clubs.

To the information papers

Die MoMo 2.0-Studie

Entwicklung von motorischer Leistungsfähigkeit und körperlich-sportlicher Aktivität und ihre Wirkung auf die Gesundheit von Kindern und Jugendlichen

Das Motorik-Modul (MoMo) entstand als ein Teilmodul des bundesweiten, repräsentativen Kinder- und Jugendgesundheitssurveys (KiGGS) des Robert Koch-Instituts (RKI) und wird seit 2003 durchgeführt. Aufgrund eines Beschlusses des Deutschen Bundestags führen wir deshalb seit Oktober 2022 die Studie nun unter dem Namen MoMo 2.0 in noch mehr Orten in Deutschland durch. Gefördert durch das Bundesministerium für Gesundheit ist es das Ziel von MoMo 2.0, den Verlauf und die Entwicklung der körperlichen Fitness und das Aktivitätsverhalten der in Deutschland lebenden Bevölkerung über einen längeren Zeitraum zu untersuchen. Diese Ergebnisse helfen, die Gesundheitssituation in Deutschland zu verbessern.

 

Ergebnisvideo

In diesem Video berichten Samira und Finn über ihre Teilnahme an der Studie und stellen aktuelle Ergebnisse vor.

Aktuelles

LogoIfSS
Save the date: Kongress Let's move Kids + Kinder bewegen 2025

Vom 19. bis 21. März 2025 findet der Kongress “Let’s move Kids + Kinder bewegen” am Institut für Sport und Sportwissenschaft in Karlsruhe statt. An den ersten beiden Tagen erwartet die Teilnehmenden ein englischsprachiger wissenschaftlicher Kongress mit Keynotes von internationalen Expert*innen, wissenschaftlichen Beiträgen und Posterpräsentationen. Am dritten Tag werden die neuesten Forschungsergebnisse der MoMo-Studie vorgestellt, und es finden Impulsvorträge sowie eine Podiumsdiskussion zur Datennutzung in verschiedenen Settings statt. Weitere Infos folgen.

GhentNiessner
MoMo und MO|RE data bei DCD15-IMDRC6

Vom 5. bis zum 8. Juni fand der 15. Developmental Coordination Disorder (DCD) Kongress und die 6. Zusammenkunft des International Motor Development Research Consortium (IMDRC) in einem kombinierten Event statt (DCD15-IMDRC6). Die Veranstaltung bot eine Plattform für die Präsentation der Projekte MoMo und MO|RE data durch Claudia Niessner und Anke Hanssen-Doose. Die Poster-Präsentationen lockten zahlreiche interessierte Zuhörende an und es gab eine wertvolle Diskussion unter den Teilnehmenden. Darüber hinaus bot die Veranstaltung eine ausgezeichnete Gelegenheit, neue Kontakte zu knüpfen und bestehende Beziehungen zu stärken.

Zum MoMo-Poster
ExpertsWHO
WHO adolescent physical activity measurement and surveillance meeting

Vom 8. bis 10. Mai 2024 fand das WHO-Meeting statt. Expert*innen aus der ganzen Welt wurden eingeladen, darunter auch MoMo-Projektleiter Dr. Alexander Burchartz, der wichtige Erkenntnisse aus der MoMo-Studie und seiner Doktorarbeit präsentierte.

Das Treffen bot eine Plattform für tiefgründige Diskussionen und den Austausch zwischen den Expert*innen. Die Präsentationen und Diskussionen, insbesondere die Ergebnisse und Erfahrungen aus der MoMo-Studie und der COMO-Studie, trugen wesentlich zur Qualität und Tiefe der Diskussionen bei.

Die während des Treffens gewonnenen Erkenntnisse und der Austausch mit den Expert*innen lieferten wertvolle Impulse für die aktuell laufenden Studien des Projekts. Darüber hinaus ergaben sich durch das Treffen spannende Ideen und Kontakte für mögliche Kooperationen in der nahen Zukunft. Diese Möglichkeiten werden weiterhin vom Projektteam erkundet und genutzt. Das Treffen war somit ein wichtiger Schritt für die Weiterentwicklung des Projekts.

Fiba 24KTS BW
Fitnessbarometer 2024

„Wie fit sind die Kinder und Jugendlichen in Baden-Württemberg?“

Diese Frage beantwortet die Kinderturnstiftung Baden-Württemberg in Zusammenarbeit mit Prof. Dr. Klaus Bös und dem Forschungsteam des KIT unter der Leitung von Dr. Claudia Niessner einmal im Jahr.

Der Einordnung der Ergebnisse liegen die MoMo-Daten der Basiserhebung zugrunde.

Dieses Jahr interessierte vor allem die Frage, wie sich die Corona-Pandemie in der Fitness niederschlägt: Zeichnet sich weiter ein Corona-Knick ab?

Außerdem wurde in diesem Jahr der „Gewichtssprung“ vom Kindergarten zur Grundschule untersucht.

Zu den Ergebnissen
Testung KAPädagogische Hochschule Karlsruhe
Halbzeit bei der Feldarbeit (Welle 4)

Der 29.04. markiert einen besonderen Meilenstein in der aktuellen Feldphase: das Bergfest. An der Pädagogischen Hochschule Karlsruhe wurden die Testungen der Route 40, einer von insgesamt 79 Routen, durchgeführt. Dieses Ereignis zog auch die Aufmerksamkeit der Presse auf sich. Vor Ort waren Pressevertreter*innen, die Interviews mit Annette Worth, Claudia Niessner, Alexander Burchartz und Sarah Heinisch führten. Die Anwesenheit der Medien unterstreicht die Bedeutung der Feldphase und bietet eine Plattform, um die Fortschritte und Ergebnisse einem breiteren Publikum zu präsentieren.

Mit dem heutigen Tag ist ein wichtiger Schritt in Richtung des Endziels der Feldphase getan, und die positive Resonanz der Presse trägt dazu bei, die öffentliche Wahrnehmung und Unterstützung für das Projekt zu stärken.

Zu den Presseberichten
BroschüreKron
Neue Ergebnisbroschüre verfügbar (Welle 3)

In dieser Broschüre erhalten Sie die wichtigsten Studien-Ergebnisse zur motorischen Leistungsfähigkeit, körperlich-sportlicher Aktivität und Gesundheit bei jungen Menschen.

Zur Broschüre
OsternHeinisch
Ostergrüße

Das gesamte MoMo-Team wünscht Ihnen frohe Ostern und schöne Feiertage! Genießen Sie die frühlingshaften Tage und tanken Sie Energie bei Spaziergängen, Fahrradtouren oder anderen Aktivitäten im Freien. Diese Feiertage bieten die perfekte Möglichkeit, sich zu bewegen und die Natur zu erkunden.

GPS
MoMo-Ergebnispräsentation bei der GPS-Jahrestagung

Am 8. März präsentierten Prof. Dr. Alexander Woll und Dr. Claudia Niessner auf der Jahrestagung der Gesellschaft für Pädiatrische Sportmedizin in Ludwigsburg die neuesten Ergebnisse aus der MoMo-Studie und dem Fitnessbarometer unter dem Titel "Wie bewegen sich Kinder und Jugendliche in Deutschland?". Ihre Präsentation lieferte wichtige Einblicke in das Bewegungsverhalten und die Fitness der jungen Generation und regte Diskussionen über mögliche Maßnahmen zur Verbesserung der Bewegungsförderung an.

Pub
Neue Veröffentlichung: Die körperlich-sportliche Aktivität und Mediennutzung von Kindern und Jugendlichen in Deutschland während und nach der COVID-19 Pandemie

Vorgestellt werden die bisher analysierten Daten zur körperlich-sportlichen Aktivität und Mediennutzung von in Deutschland lebenden Kindern und Jugendlichen vor und während der COVID-19-Pandemie, eingebettet in eine „post-COVID“-Befragung, die erstmals im Februar 2023 durchgeführt wurde.

Zur Veröffentlichung
KITKIT
Vortrag "Daten für Taten: Zukunft der Sport- und Gesundheitsforschung im Kindesalter"

Bei der Veranstaltungsreihe "KIT im Rathaus" stellte sich das KIT-Zentrum Health Technologies vor. Dr. Claudia Niessner präsentierte in ihrem Vortrag mit dem Titel "Daten für Taten: Zukunft der Sport- und Gesundheitsforschung im Kindesalter" anschaulich, welchen bedeutenden Beitrag die MoMo-Studie in diesem Kontext leistet.

Zur Aufzeichnung des Vortrags
KlemmKlemm
Präsentation von MoMo-Ergebnissen beim Expert*innenhearing der dsj

Im Rahmen der dsj-Veranstaltung "MOVE FOR HEALTH" präsentierte Prof. Dr. Alexander Woll Erkenntnisse aus der MoMo- und COMO-Studie zur Bewegung von Kindern und Jugendlichen in Deutschland nach der Pandemie. Die Veranstaltung schaffte einen tollen Austausch zwischen Wissenschaft, Praxis und Politik.

MoMo-Schulung_2.jpgHeinisch
Neue MoMo-Testleiter*innen sind bereit

Die MoMo 2.0-Studie des Instituts für Bewegungs-erziehung und Sport, in Kooperation mit dem KIT und den Verbundpartnern Universität Konstanz und Humboldt-Universität Berlin, startet im September 2023 in eine neue Erhebungswelle. Aus diesem Grund fand im Juli die erste MoMo-Testleitungsschulung statt, an der 15 Studierende teilgenommen haben. Da zu einer Testfahrt aber nicht nur das Testen der Proband*innen dazu gehört, sondern auch sehr viel Organisation, erhielten die Teilnehmenden viele Informationen rund um eine MoMo-Testfahrt. Gut vorbereitet können nun die ersten Testleiter*innen Kinder und Jugendliche im Alter von 4-17 Jahren u.a. in München und Kiel, Budesheim und Schmittshausen testen. Gefördert wird die MoMo 2.0-Studie seit 2022 vom Bundesministerium für Gesundheit.

Screenshot 2023-04-21 1152248888.png
2021 Best Paper Award

Kathrin Wunsch, Carina Nigg, Claudia Niessner, Steffen C. E. Schmidt, Doris Oriwol, Anke Hanssen-Doose, Alexander Burchartz, Ana Eichsteller, Simon Kolb, Annette Worth und Alexander Woll erhalten den 2021 Best Paper Award in Anerkennung der herausragenden Publikation "The Impact of COVID-19 on the Interrelation of Physical Activity, Screen Time and Health-Related Quality of Life in Children and Adolescents in Germany: Results of the Motorik-Modul Study" Children 2021, 8(2), 98; doi: 10.3390/children8020098

Zur Publikation
MoMo2.0
MoMo 2.0-Studie

Aufgrund eines Beschlusses des Deutschen Bundestags wird die MoMo-Studie durch das BMG seit Oktober 2022 gefördert.

Weitere Infos
Factsheets
Factsheets der Welle 3 online

Ergebnisse zur körperlich-sportlichen Aktivität in der Schule, dem Verein, der Freizeit und im Alltag der Kinder und Jugendlichen in Deutschland.

Zu den Factsheets
BMG
Informationspapiere BMG

Das Bundesministerium für Gesundheit hat Informationspapiere zur Bewegungsförderung bei Kindern und Jugendlichen in der Corona-Pandemie in den Lebenswelten Schule, Kita und Sportverein veröffentlicht.

Zu den Informationspapieren